Keynote Speakers
Call For Papers
IST2008 poster
Accepted Papers
Final Technical Program
Paper Submission Rule
IEEEXplore Requirement 
Previous ISTs
Related Links
Contact us
.: We hope you have enjoyed the event, wish to see you in next IST :.


Covering an area of 1,648,000 square kilometers, the Islamic Republic of Iran is located in southwestern Asia. The Caspian Sea, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan and Armenia in the north; Afghanistan and Pakistan in the east; Turkey and Iraq in the west surround the country On the south Iran borders the Persian Gulf and the Sea of Oman.
The plateau of Iran is among the oldest civilization centers in the history of humanity and has an important place in archeological studies.

With respect to its political, social, and cultural characteristics, the ancient period of Iran (Persia) is One of the most magnificent epochs of Iranian history. Out of this era, so many cultural and historical monuments have remained in Persepolis, Passargad, Susa (Shoosh), Shoshtar, Hamedan, Marvdasht (Naghsh-e-Rostam), Taghbostan, Sarvestan, and Nayshabour, which are worth seeing .

The history of Iran has had many vicissitudes with many empires and dynasties having ruled over this country of which the most important are:
Achaemenian 533-330 BC
Seleucidian 330-247 BC
Parthian 247BC-244AD
Sassanide 244-651 AD
Arab Attack 645 AD
Omavian and Abbasian 749-932 AD
Saffarian 866
Samanian 819-999 AD
Al Bouyeh 945-1055 AD
Ghaznavian 977-1186 AD
Seljukian 1038-1194 AD
Kharazmshahian 1077-1231 AD
Mongol invasion to Iran 1220 AD
Ilkhanian 1256-1353 AD
Mozaffarian 1314-1393 AD
Teymurids 1370-1506 AD
Turkamens 1380-1468 AD
Safavid 1501-1732 AD
Afsharian 1734-1796 AD
Zandian 17501794 AD
Qajar 1779-1924 AD
Pahlavi 1924-1979 AD
The Islamic Revolution 1979 AD

According to the Constitution if the I.R.Iran, the common official language and handwriting (alphabet) is Farsi (Persian) language.

Iranian embassies throughout the world are bound to issue tourist entry visa for applicants who hold valid passports at the most within 10 day.

The monetary unit of Iran is the Rial; 10 Rials is 1 Tooman. Iranian coin denominations are 10, 50, 100, 250 and 500 Rials and different Iranian paper money denominations are 200, 500, 1/000, 2/000, 5/000, 10/000, 20/000 and 50/000 Rials. Different kinds of travelers checks certified checks, and credit cards of domestic banks as well as international credit cards may be used.

In Iran, there are different accommodation facilities of diverse classification, at reasonable prices-hotels, motels, guesthouses, inns, hostels, etc. Restaurants are very different in Iran due to their famous cooking styles, diverse and delicious for everybody’s taste. In the cities, all kinds of local and national dishes as well as international ones are served.

Tourist attractions:
The existing historical monuments in Persepolis, Passargad, Susa, Hamedan, Kermanshah, Firoozabad, Syraf and many other ancient centers of Iranian of Iranian civilization are incentives enough for visiting this country.

Tourism Regions:
Due to its vastness and natural diversity, Iran enjoys various tourism regions, each with its own worth-seeing sites. The capitals of Iran along the history which are nowadays the most well-known tourism places are as follows: Hamadan, Shoush, Persepolis, Kazeroon, Kermanshah, Rag, Nayshabour, Shiraz, Tabriz, Qazvin, Esfahan, Mashhad, Kerman, Gorgan, Tehran.

Main Townships: Hamadan, Malayer, Nahavand, Twiserkan, etc.
Main Attractions: Alavian Tomb, Alisadr Cave, Avecina Tomb, Baba Taher Oryan Tomb, Esteroo Mord Khay Tomb, Ganj Nameh Inscription, Habaqooq-e-Nabi Tomb, Hegmataneh (Ekbatan) Hills, Lalejin Handicrafts, Nooshijan Castle, etc.

Main Townships: Abadeh, Eqleed, Firooz Abad, Kazeroon, Mamasani, Marvdasht, Nayreez, Shiraz, etc.
Main Attractions: Hafiz Tomb, Karim Khani Citadel, Koorush Shrine, Naqsh-e-Rostam, Naqsh-e-Shapour, Narenjestan Qavam Edifice, Nasirol Molk Mosque, Parishan Lake, Pasargadae, Persepolis, Qashqaie Tribe, Sa'di Tomb, Vakil Bazaar and Public Bath, etc.

Main Townships: Esfahan, Golpayegan, Kashan, Natanz, Shahreza, etc.
Main Attractions: Abbasi Jame' (Imam) Mosque, Abyaneh Village, Ali Qapoo Edifice, Borujerdiha House, Chahar Baq School, Chehel Sotune Palace, Esfahan Jame' Mosque, Hasht Behesht Palace, Imamzadeh Shahzadeh Ebrahim, Khajoo Bridge, Menar Jonban Menaret, Naqsh-e-Jahan Square, Sialk Hills, Sio Seh Pol Bridge and Zayandeh Rood River Banks, Sheikh Lotf Ol-Lah Mosque, Vank Church. etc.

Main Townships: Abadan, Ahvaz, Dezful, Khoram Shahr, Masjed Soleiman, Shoosh, Shooshtar, etc.
Main Attractions: Acropol (Shoosh) Castle, Choqazanbil Temple (Ziggurat), Danial-e-Nabi Mausoleum, Karoon River Banks, Shaoor (Ardeshir) Palace, Shoosh Museum, etc.

Main Townships: Kangavar, Kermanshah, Paveh, Qasr-e-Shirin, etc.
Main Attractions: Anahita Temple, Bistoon Inscription , Kermanshah Jame' Mosque, Moavenol Molk Mourning Place, Qoori Qaleh Cave, Taq-e-Bostan (Arch), etc.

Main Townships: Daregaz, Ferdows, Kashmar, Mashad, Nayshabur, Quchan, Sabzevar, etc.
Main Attractions: Attar Nayshabury Tomb, Bazeh Hoor Fire Temple, Ferdowsi Tomb and Museum, Goharshad Mosque, Haroonieh (Qazali Tomb), Imam Reza Shrine, Kalat-e-Nadery Complex, Khayam Nayshaburi Tomb, Saffron, etc.

Main Townships: Bam, Jiroft, Kerman, Rafsanjan, Sirjan, Zarand, etc.
Main Attractions: Bam Citadel, Ganj Ali Khan Mosque and Museum, Jabaliyeh Dome, Kavir-e-Loot Desert, Mahan Garden, Moshtaqiyeh Dome, Shah Nematollah-e-Vali Tomb, Vakil Traditional Tea House or Bath, etc.

Main Townships: Damavand, Karaj, Ray, Shemiranat, Tehran, Varamin.
Main Attractions: Azadi Square, Damavand Mountain, Golestan Palace, Hazrat Abdol Azim Shrine, Imam Khomeini Shrine, Iran (National) Bastan Museum, Iran Carpet Museum, Old Houses, Saltanat Abad Palace, Sepahsalar School and Mosque, etc.

Main Townships: Qazvin, Takestan.
Main Attractions: Alamoot Castle, Alnabi Mosque, Avan Lake, Imamzadeh Shahzadeh Hossein, Kharaqan Towers, etc.

Main Townships: Gorgan, Bandar Gaz, Bandar Turkaman, Gonbad Kavoos, etc.
Main Attractions: Caspian Sea Shore, Golestan National Park, Aq Qala Bridge, Gonbad Qaboos, Turkaman Tribes, etc.

 East Azarbayjan
Main Townships: Ahar, Hashtrood, Marand, Maraqeh, Mianeh, Tabriz, etc.
Main Attractions: Arg Mosque, Babak Castle, Eil Goli Ediface, Kabood Mosque, Kandowan Village, Orumieh Lake, Sahand Summit, Saint Stepanous Church, etc

Copyright © 2007-2010 ITRC , All rights reserved.
E-mail :
Best viewed by:
MS Internet Explorer 5.0 and above ,
 1024*768 Resolution